How does it work?
Messages will be deleted permanently as soon as somebody (other than the author) views it. Nobody will be able to retrieve it and prove that you said that.
How secure is this application?
The messages are encrypted in your browser -- the server administrators have no way to decrypt it, as the encryption key is not sent to the server.